The Association was first formed as a result of a group of then ‘Bursars’ getting together and sharing their ideas. The decision to form the SA State High School Bursars Association was formalised at a meeting at Adelaide High School in 1974.

The first President was the late Jim Baker, originally located at Salisbury High School.

A subsequent change of title of Bursar to Administrative Officer meant a change of title for the Association in 1992 — it was renamed State High School Administrative Officers Association.

This professional organisation provided a network for training and development, addressed issues relating to administration and general running of schools and worked collaboratively with the then SA Education Department.

Education 1970

The name of the Association was changed again at the 1997 Conference (following a vote of all financial members) to the State Secondary School Administrative Officers Association. This was done to acknowledge that many SSOs in schools with a secondary component, such as Area Schools, carry out the duties of Administrative Officers, and thus are entitled to join a professional Association which provides fellowship and training and development for its members.

Again, after a vote of financial members in 2003, the Association changed its Constitution and name to allow all administrative and financial officers working in any SA State School (Secondary, Primary, Area, Special) to become a member . The new name became the SA State School Administrative Officers Association. The Association also became an incorporated body at this time.

At its Annual General Meeting in 2010, financial members voted to update the Association Constitution.

During the 2020 virtual Annual General Meeting, members voted to make changes to the membership criteria outlined in the constitution. The Association now has two membership categories.

Full membership; which will be granted to any person/s currently situated at a government school, including a person in a relief position, who holds the leadership position of Business Leader/Manager and/or Finance Manager/Officer.

The second category is to hold an Associate membership; which will be granted to any person/s currently situated at a government school who is aspiring to a school business and/or financial leadership role.  NB: Associate membership will not be granted voting or office bearing rights.

This change voted on by members at the last AGM was made to include SSOs in administration and other school functions who aspire to lead in a business or finance role. This creates increased eligibility as an Associate Member for staff who were ineligible previously because their role did not reflect the constitution’s intent.

The Honourable John Gardner MP Minister for Education, and Department for Education Chief Executive Rick Persse with SASBA President Tracey Aberle at the 2021 Conference.

Become a Member

Are you passionate about advocating change in South Australia’s public schools?

Join now and be connected with a community of like-minded individuals collaborating to share knowledge and facilitate growth and innovation in our schools.

Find Out More